California (Web Desk) — YouTube has introduced a new privacy feature for users who share TVs, allowing profiles to be protected with a four-digit code.
According to YouTube Chief Executive Neal Mohan, the account lock feature is now being made available to users worldwide. Through this feature, other members of the household will not be able to access a user’s profile, subscriptions or video recommendations.
To lock a profile, users can go to Settings from the navigation bar on the left side of the YouTube app on their TV and activate the feature. However, a separate lock will have to be set up for each device.
Users will not need to enter the code with the remote every time, as after selecting a locked profile, it can also be unlocked through the YouTube app on a mobile phone. However, notifications must be enabled for this feature.
If the code is forgotten, the profile can be unlocked and a new code can be set using Google Account information through the “Forgot password” option displayed on the TV screen.
YouTube has clarified that the four-digit code is not a replacement for the actual password, but has been designed to maintain users’ profile privacy on shared devices.